FRENCH GIRL STYLE

cdm10

cdm4

cdm3

cdm2

cdm1

cdm8

cdm7

Top: Madewell | Jacket: Michael Kors (similar here) | Jeans: Cotton On (similar here) | Shoes: Dolce Vita | Bag: Rebecca Minkoff | Sunglasses: Madewell

French-girl style is something that all us fashion lovers aim to achieve. There’s an ease and coolness about the way they carry themselves that perfectly translates into their everyday attire. Because my personal style leans more casual, I tend to take a lot of inspiration from the Parisian streets. Even though I may never quite embody that je ne sais quoi that comes so naturally to them, I can try to emulate it through my wardrobe.

Stripes are the ultimate French-girl style staple, and are where you should start if you’re really trying to nail down the look. The country actually has a long history behind how the striped shirt came to be such an iconic wardrobe piece (read it here on Refinery29). Instead of the usual blue and white stripes, I opted for this red and white striped tee from Madewell. Their whisper cotton tees are a must-have in my opinion—super soft, lightweight and available in so many colors!

I paired the striped tee with my essential white skinny jeans and new Dolce Vita white mules (so obsessed with these!). French girls often prefer chic flats over heels for everyday. A nice pair of mules, loafers or ballet flats in leather or suede perfectly walks the line between casual and sophisticated. To finish it off, I tossed on a classic black leather moto jacket, grabbed my quilted Rebecca Minkoff shoulder bag and voila! Now, all I’m missing is a macaroon in hand.

What do you think of my French girl-inspired look? Share your thoughts in the comments!

Save

Save

Author: sartoriallyoc

Based in Orange County, California, Sartorially OC is the personal fashion, lifestyle and travel diary of 27-year-old wife and writer Kim Mykitta.

2 thoughts on “FRENCH GIRL STYLE”

Leave a Reply

